FCE Speaking exam overview – a warmer

This is a bit of a different way to introduce activities that practise the FCE Speaking exam. The students have to use speculative language and their imaginations to decipher a series of diagrams.

Some of my teenage FCE students are taking the exam in a couple of weeks and wanted to get to grips with the Speaking exam as they didn’t feel they knew it well.  I also have some other FCE students, both teenagers and adults who haven’t been preparing for the exam for long, so I thought it would be a good idea to give them an overview of the exam too.

To start the lesson I gave the students, in groups of 2 or 3, a series of 4 diagrams on a piece of paper.  (Having read about it on Adi Rajan’s blog, I have been playing around with Piktochart, the infographic maker, that’s how I made this diagram. Nearly lost a whole morning playing! I used the diagram in this resource as my reference)  I asked them to speculate as to what the diagrams represented. They came up with some interesting ideas, and only one pair out of both classes guessed that it represented the Speaking exam. Here’s the diagram – four to a page to save on photocopying. Just cut along the lines.

FCE speaking exam diagrams

We went on from there to use the diagrams in pairs to say what they knew about each part of the exam. I then gave each pair a post-it note and asked them to write down something they would like to know on it. We then went through their questions before going to practice some parts of the exam.

How would you use this with your FCE class?

4 comments

  1. Really interesting but might have been simpler to use PowerPoint to create this graphic :-) You would have saved a whole morning.

    1. Haha! Thanks, Adi! Actually, I spent the morning just playing. It didn’t take long to make this and I have an idea to use it along with some tips and questions that my students came up with to make a infographic for the classroom.

  2. Hi Emma,
    I really like this activity, and your other FCE activities too. I’ve added a link to your FCE category to my Useful FCE Websites page, http://wp.me/p18yiK-k1, but I couldn’t add your name to it. Do you have an about page I can link to?
    By the way, thanks a lot for including my blog in your blogroll.
    Sandy

    1. Thank you so much, Sandy! I’ve been reading your posts for some time now and always find them useful.
      Here’s a link to my About page – http://hiveofactivities.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/about-this-blog/ – let me know if that doesn’t work.
      Thanks again
      Emma

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

