CPE: Run For Your Life! – Halloween Lesson Plan

wpid-photo-23-sep-2012-2047This lesson plan is based on an article from The Guardian called Zombie Games: Run For Your Life.  It’s about a 5k run called Zombie Evacuation Race where “zombies” run after you and “soldiers” shout at you.  This lesson involves CPE exam style tasks – Speaking parts 1 and 2 and also Reading & Use Of English part 6 (gapped text).  As with the other Halloween lesson plan I posted, I haven’t yet done this lesson but am posting it now in case anyone else might find it useful.

The warmer is based on Speaking part 1 type questions. I’ll probably do this as a Question Swap.

  • What things frighten you the most?
  • How difficult would it be for you to move away from where you’re living now?
  • How far can you run without having to stop?
  • Can you think on your feet?
  • Do you know how to survive in the wild?
  • In the future, do you see yourself living in the city or the country?
  • What do you enjoy about running?
  • Are you a trusting person?
  • Do you think a zombie invasion is possible?
  • How would you describe your running style?
  • Have you ever run away from anything?

Next, I’ll ask the class if they can guess what the class will be about.  I’ll show them the promo video and ask them how they would feel taking part in this event.

Then we’ll move on to reading the article to find out how the writer felt when they took part.  I’ve prepared the article with every other paragraph taken out (to be fitted in later during the gapped text exercise). I’ll divide the text into chunks and give each student a part. They will read it and ask me about any words or expressions they’re not sure about, before mingling to tell each other about their section of the text (including any interesting vocabulary from it that they can share).

From here, the students will go on to do the gapped text exercise. I’ll hand out the text they’ve been telling each other about as a whole article, plus the missing paragraphs (and one extra, of course). In pairs, they will decide which paragraph goes in which gap.

When they have completed this, I’ll ask them what they think of the event and also what their favourite new word or expression from the text is. We’re keeping a stack of vocabulary cards, for use in games and so on, so I’ll have them write the interesting phrases on the cards at this point.

Finally, I’ve prepared a Speaking part 2 type exercise, where they’ll look at some pictures of ways to celebrate Halloween and talk about them.

For homework, I’ll give them some Key Word Transformations that I’ve created on the topic of Zombies.

All the materials I’ll be using are here: Zombie Evacuation Please help yourselves!

11 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Graffox.

  2. Great idea, i think i’m gonna add my experience with my pictures form a game called 2.8 hours later that took place in Glasgow last year. I think the kids will love it!

    1. Sounds great!

  3. […] Run For Your Life! – Halloween Lesson Plan. […]

  4. Mònica · · Reply

    WOW. You’re awesome. Thank you very much for sharing this. I’m using it tonight with my CAE students, a bit adapted. Thanks again.

    1. Hooray, I’m so glad it’s useful! Hope it goes well!

  5. This is amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing!!

    1. I’m glad it’s come in useful for someone else too!

  6. So glad I could still find this, have used it a few times with great success!

    1. Great to hear. Thanks, Matt!

Leave a comment

