What’s in the stocking?

P1110719This is a Christmas activity which can be used to practise vocabulary (lower levels) and vocab and speculative language (higher levels). Put some items in a stocking, seal it, and give it to the students to pass round, have a good old feel and tell their partner what they think might be inside.

“As far as I can tell, this is board marker.”

“It could be a highlighter pen.”

“What about a fat felt tip?”

“I’m afraid I can’t agree; I think it’s mascara.”

That sort of thing. Then you open it and reveal the contents. You could have a prize for the pair who got the most correct. The weirder the things, the better!

I’ve only used it before with FCE classes but I intend to use it this year with my 5-6 year olds. We’ve been learning classroom objects and toys so I’ll fill up the stocking with some of those objects – the same number of objects as students. Then we’ll pass it around and guess what’s in it, before opening it and finding out. To make it more of a party game, we’ll pass it round the circle while music plays and when it stops, the pupil that has it will have a turn guessing something. I’ll engineer it so that each student has a go and I’ll pin up a flashcard for each guess so we can compare our guesses to the contents at the end. They’re learning colours so I’ll ask them to guess the colours too.

3 comments

  1. GML Nimisha · · Reply

    Good effort! Like to hear more from you.

    1. Thanks! I’ll do my best!

  2. That is a very good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Short but very accurate info… Thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read post!

Leave a comment

