Intensive DELTA Course week 1

wpid-img_20140918_211544.jpgWe’ve spent a week getting to grips with Module 3, the extended assignment. I’m not going to be doing it until after Christmas, but IH Seville start with this module in case anyone wants to use the students we will meet in module 2 to do our needs analysis, etc.  It’s also useful as an introduction to some of the terminology we will have to know for module 1 in December.  It’s been pretty light compared to what I expect is coming.  In my previous DELTA post, I said I would not be blogging much (or at all) during this period, but would answer a self-styled DELTA weekly quiz. Here’s my first week’s answers:

1. What was your lightbulb moment this week?

I don’t think I’ve had any flashes of understanding this week, although I feel generally switched on and definitely feel “can-do” about this module 3. I think it’s also helping us get in gear for Module 2 next week.  I just hope I’m making enough notes so that I don’t forget what is required when I come to do the assignment next term (presuming I get a job!)

2. What was the most stressful thing?

The first day, before I got there. I don’t know why, but I was more nervous than I normally am about this sort of thing. Maybe because everyone says how hard the DELTA is. Anyway, as soon as I got there and met everyone I forgot my nerves.

3. What do you wish you could have done?

More reading? Better cooking for myself? More exercise?

4. What is the best activity you have learned this week?

The input this week hasn’t been focused on activities, so this is what I’ve got for ya: Do not underestimate the learning potential in making posters! We made one for Pt 4 of Module 3 (Assessment) and how it related to the whole assignment and the process of discussing what we wanted to include and how we wanted to arranged it really helped me get my head around it. We then had to explain our poster to another group.  This sort of activity might work really well for students who are getting to grips with what is required in a Cambridge writing exam, for example.

5. What is the best tip you’ve got this week?

Our tutor said he likes to think of 1-2-1 students as a small group. It helps to remember to give the student time to think and plan.

6. What have you done to relax?

Aside from enjoying breaks with my fellow DELTA students, I’ve been reading a book called England, England by Julian Barnes, watching a bit of crap telly, and I’m also trying a bit of mindfulness meditation every morning and evening.

7. What is your new favourite word or phrase?

Scorer reliability. My family might understand why.

8. What book have you added to your wishlist?

Easy! When I was researching for my prentation/workshop on class dynamics, I read a couple of books on the subject, one by Zoltan Dornyei and the other by Jill Hadfield. I found out this week that last year the pair published a book on class dynamics together! Apparently it contains some ideas from the field of sports. I don’t know much else other than that, except that it’s bound to be good. It’s called Motivating Learning.  (If you search for that in Abe books, you’ll need to refine your search with “Hadfield,” for example.) 

9. What’s your favourite quote this week?

Another easy one. Russell Mayne on learning styles: “They seem personal – in the same way that horoscopes do.” It’s definitely worth checking out his IATEFL talk “A guide to pseudo-science in English language teaching

10. Which area have you improved in this week?

Well, I haven’t taught this week, so perhaps I can say I have improved my understanding of Module 3. And I know a bit more terminology.

11. What resource (teaching, learning or other) would you like to share?

Evernote is proving pretty damn useful. I’m using it to tag all emails, documents and web pages that pertain to the course. If  I want to find something, it’s all in one place. I have a feeling that being organised is going to be IMPORTANT.

Screenshot 2014-09-18 21.19.45

Some of my Evernote tags

Leave a comment

