Intensive DELTA Course Week 3

wpid-img_20141008_200911.jpgThis was the second week of Module 2. We had LSA 1- our first assessed lessons, handed in our first background essays and stage 2 of our PDA – professional development assignments. It’s been a busy week! I haven’t got answers for all the questions this time, but here’s what I do have:

1. What was your lightbulb moment this week?

I use this squeaky chicken to get students’ attention when it’s time to finish an activity. It’s funny but can sometimes make people jump. When that happened in my class, I realised that if I asked a student to be in control of the chicken, it would make the students feel more involved in their class, and take the responsibility away from me – and any guilt for scaring them. They really loved it.  Yes, these are adults I’m talking about.

2. What was the most stressful thing?

Trying to finish the lesson plan in time so I could get some feedback from my tutor. I don’t think I’ve ever worked so long and hard on essays or lesson plans!

3. What do you wish you could have done?

Gone to the International food festival here in Seville with my friends. Never mind!

4. What is the best activity you have learned this week?

A whole bunch of them for helping students DEVELOP their listening skills rather than TEST them. I’ve been doing it all wrong!

5. Whats the best tip you have learned this week?

A feedback tip that saves time. When the students have completed an exercise (in my case it was a guided discovery), you can give out the answers and get students to mark their worksheets, circling anything they don’t understand. You can go round and spot what things people have circled so you know what to go over with the class as a whole.

6. What have you done to relax?

I had most of the evening off and a couple of glasses of wine the night before my assessed lesson. Lovely!

8. What book have you added to your wishlist?

I’ve sort of skim-read the whole thing for LSA 2, but I’d like to properly read Field’s Listening In The Language Classroom (2008)

10. Which area have you improved in this week?

I wanted to make sure I paid good attention to form and provided a decent written record in my assessed class last week. Check and check!

11. What resource (teaching, learning or other) would you like to share?

Skitch. You can annotate pdfs! I think it comes with Evernote.

3 comments

  1. Benjamin Waters · · Reply

    Emma, send me some of those activities for developing listening skills if you can. Sounds interesting. Thanks!

  2. ‘Listening in the language classroom’ is a greatbook – one of only two I read from cover to cover during my Distance Delta. It really inspired me, and I’ve completely changed my attitude to listening because of it. I’ve done a couple of seminars about it and am hoping to do an IH webinar in the future 🙂 Would be great to share ideas once you’re through with Delta. Hope it’s going well!
    Sandy

    1. Definitely! It’s going fine, thanks, Sandy. I think!

Leave a comment

