Quizicon’s 100 most common words quiz

quizicon

Copyright © 2014 Emma Gore-Lloyd

What are the most common words in English and how can this question help FCE students prepare for Open Cloze exercises?

In this simple online quiz from Quizicon you have 5 minutes to guess the 100 most common words in English. Simple, eh? And a good challenge! And, guess what, these words all happen to be articles, determiners, pronouns, auxiliary verbs, modals, prepositions, possessive adjectives, linkers, etc, ie. exactly the kinds of words students need to be aware of when completing an open cloze.

When I’ve done this with my students they’ve enjoyed the challenge and on one occasion even asked to try it again! I found it an interesting way to introduce the exam exercise and it was a good way to get the students working together – I had one student typing while the rest were calling out suggestions for him to type.

If you know any other useful quizzes or other activities that help students with FCE Use of English, I’d love to try them out!

10 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Tim's Free English Lesson Plans and commented:
    A cool and surprisingly difficult quiz!

  2. I tried it, and I was amazed at how many words I forgot to put into the quiz! It’s weird how you think you know the language through and through but can’t manage to come up with the most used words haha 🙂

    1. It’s a good challenge, ain’t it! Thanks for trying it and for commenting, RO!

  3. I was rubbish, I got flustered and only got about 50!

  4. Reblogged this on iamlearningteaching and commented:
    An amazing task for FCE preparation.. Thanks a lot for sharing

    1. You’re very welcome!

  5. Great idea, Emma!
    I really enjoyed the warmer! I’m sure my students will have a blast! They’re sooo bored of doing the same kind of activities…but I’m determined to change that…as soon as I put into practice a couple of your interesting suggestions! Man, so valuable resources here! Many thanks for sharing!

  6. Clarissa · · Reply

    I loved this quiz! To use it with my elementary class, I gave them the words beforehand and asked them to study the list. I mentioned those were the most common words in English but I didn’t say what we would use it for. The following class I brought a prize and had them take the quiz, the student who got the most words right won the prize. Since my elementary students still haven’t reached a level in wich they could just think of all those words, it was a great opportunity to make them review some and learn others. The result was surprising, and we most certainly had fun. Thank you for sharing :))

    1. What a nice idea! Thank you, Carissa!

  7. Clarissa · · Reply

    I loved this quiz! To use it with my elementary class, I gave them the words beforehand and asked them to study the list. I mentioned those were the most common words in English but I didn’t say what we would use it for. The following class I brought a prize and had them take the quiz, the student who got the most words right won the prize. Since my elementary students still haven’t reached a level in which they could just think of all those words, it was a great opportunity to make them review some and learn others. The result was surprising, and we most certainly had fun. Thank you for sharing :))

Leave a comment

