How to use this blog – UPDATED

As you’ll know if you’ve read the ‘About’ page, this blog started as a catalogue of tried and tested activities; a catablog, if you will. It then expanded into areas such as DELTA, EAP, and most recently EAL, along with a bunch of reflection. A blog focusing on EAL has just been merged with this blog.

As any teacher worth their salt knows, an activity that worked well with one class won’t necessarily work in the same way with another. And nor should it – each group has needs and preferences particular to its members, and this should be the starting point. The next step, of course, is deciding the aim of the lesson.

So, if you use an activity you’ve seen on this blog (or anywhere, really), please think about how it might need to be changed or tweaked to fit the needs or preferences of your students.  I will endeavour to include information about to age or level of a class I did an activity with, and the main aim of the lesson or activity, as well as any unanticipated problems that arose, and it would be great if you felt like sharing what you did differently for your class in the comments – it could inspire someone else!

acatablog

A CATABLOG

3 comments

  1. […] In my time as a teacher, I have learned and tried tons of useful and fun activities, but can I remember them all? Ha! Of course not! So the aim of this blog is to assemble activities I’ve tried out as a teacher’s catalogue for myself and for anyone else who might find them useful.   I will try to acknowledge the origins of each idea but please let me know if you think I’ve been neglectful on that front. For more on how to use the blog, see this post. […]

  2. Just clicked on the TurklishTEFL link in your blogroll for old time’s sake, and seems to go to a very dodgy site now. Might be worth deleting that one and seeing if any other old ones do the same. Please don’t delete your (very kind) link to TEFLtastic though!

    1. Yikes, thanks!

Leave a comment