Exam Wrapper for Listening exams

Have you tried exam wrappers? I recently learnt the term ‘exam wrapper’ through some EduTwitter posts. In case you haven’t come across it yet, it’s a short form (or ‘metacognition worksheet’) that students fill in before a test, designed to help them evaluate their learning and think about what they can do to prepare for it, then there’s another they fill in afterwards to reflect on whether what they did was successful and what they want to focus on next time. For more, see this science teacher’s blog and this page from King’s College, London (which also interestingly notes the limitations of exam wrappers.)

I’d used the POST type before, but hadn’t tried the PRE variety. My Y11 IGCSE E2L class are not particularly focused on their learning or on what they can do independently to help themselves. At this stage, that’s really what it’s all about. I can’t take their exams for them! I wanted to see how an exam wrapper might help them to consider their own agency and perhaps thereby improve their grades.

So, my students have spent some time filling in the PRE side of this exam wrapper, thinking about how to spend their time preparing for their listening mock tomorrow. They then came to see me individually to talk me through it.

It’s my first one, so I’m looking for feedback. What would you add/change? If you’ve used them for language exams or not-so-independent Y11 boys, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I’ll update this post when they’ve had their marks back and filled in the POST side. 13 weeks until the real exam!

Click on the picture below to download my wrapper.

Leave a comment